Going Gluten Free

For the last several years we have tried to eat healthy and clean. What I mean by that is we have grown our own food, purchased locally from the farmer’s market and almost always have fresh fruits and veggies in the house. My husband and I a few years ago decided we wanted to try juicing. We did really well for awhile. He liked the green juices and I preferred the fruitier juices. What always got us was all the prep work involved to just make a small glass of fresh juice. There had to be a better way to eat healthier.

So we went down the clean eating road, cutting out breads, carbs, processed foods and so on. I managed to replace ground beef with ground turkey and quinoa. They asked why it looked the way it did, but they ate it anyway. I have made attempts at going gluten free but it got to where it was more costly to eat healthy than it was not to. It is easier to eat bad, go through drive-thrus and so on. Eating healthy requires planning, lots of planning. Anyone that tells you they don’t is crazy. If it was just my husband and I, it would be a totally different story. With three growing boys with three completely different tastes, it’s a bit of a nightmare.

Our middle son has been a bit of a mega carb eater. He’ll eat the occasional chicken nugget, discovered he likes ham and turkey and some fruit. Other than that he prefers bread…in any form. Roll, biscuit, breadsticks, cheesy breadsticks, buns, pretzels. If it’s in the bread family, he’s eating it. Recently he broke out in a rash on the trunk and back of his body. At the time he was also on an antibiotic so naturally we thought it was a reaction to the meds. Changed meds, even more rash. After Benadryl cream and liquid, the rash was beginning to go away. Later that week, we happened to have pizza. Here came the rash! So with some trial and error we believe he has a gluten allergy.

img_6745We’ve sat and looked at recipes, trying to find things he’ll eat that aren’t too over the top with crazy ingredients. Tonight I found a recipe for Cinnamon and Spice Sweet Potato Bread. I found the recipe on Pinterest on Averie Cooks blog which has so many wonderful recipes. I followed her recipe exactly with one exception. Like I said earlier, we are trying to convert to gluten free. So I substituted the flour with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose flour. It is a 1:1 ratio and suggests to add Xanthum Gum to help the flour bond. It doesn’t say how much Xanthum Gum to add so I just sprinkled some in. I also used 2 1/2 sweet potatoes so that may have helped keep the muffins together. Instead of making a loaf of bread I made mini muffins for the boys for breakfast. They are always out the door in a hurry so it’s something easy for them to grab and go.

img_6744As you can see in the picture of the muffins, they are perfect! They got approval from all four of my boys. They had no idea it was made of sweet potatoes and they are gluten free on top of it. I suggest you check out this recipe and make some muffins or bread today. You won’t be sorry. That is unless you eat it all! We will definitely be making more of these. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

