First blog post

Hello all! Welcome to the new and sort of improved blog of Five Willow Designs. I’m new at this and really trying hard to get it right the first time. As you can see, the name has changed a little. That is due to me not being able to figure out what I did to mess up the previous blog sites. I can make things pretty but not so much on the technical side of things.

My  purpose in creating a blog has somewhat changed from what it once was. The job I worked between the previous blog and this one beginning, gave me inspiration to do so many things. As an artist, we sometimes get stuck in a bit of a rut. My job as a designer allowed me to try new things, test different designs, try new color combinations, constantly searching for the new and upcoming fonts and designs of the year. There is something magical about creating a piece of art, even if it’s only to see if you can do it.

That brings me to my other purpose in this blog. Not only am I a graphic designer, but I often call myself a ‘crafty mccrafterson’. New word. Just made it up. I am always trying new crafty ideas I see on various social media sites and on tv. I have made so many goodies over the years like candles, soaps, earrings, bracelets, string art, pillows, paintings, drawings, knitting, sewing, quilting, and on and on the list goes. It’s taken some years but I finally found my happy place and that is in my craft room either behind the sewing machine or playing in the fabric. I don’t know about anyone else, but if I could just sit and look at all the pretty fabric collections and colors, I’d be happy. Somehow, somebody insists on my using that fabric and getting it out of the house. 😉 So along with seeing some of my designs, from basic stationery to instructional books, you will also see a wide variety of craft items that I make and sell. If you see something you are interested in, please contact me and we can get you just the right product for your needs.

Last but definitely not least, you will see many posts about food. I know, another food blog. Yet this one isn’t just all about food. As a wife and mother of three growing and energetic boys, we like to eat in our house. My husband loves to cook and experiment with new dishes and flavors all the time. I consider myself the baker. Growing up my mom always had a fresh batch of chocolate chip cookies waiting for us when we got home from school. I feel my boys deserve the same wonderful memories. While we do mostly eat healthy we occasionally splurge and have some ‘unhealthy’ food items. All in moderation. (And we do go to the gym.)

So without further ado, feel free to take a gander, ask questions, check out my Facebook page, Pinterest posts, soon to have Instagram up and let’s enjoy this journey called life together.

Much love,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

